Dhaka keep playoff hopes alive

Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020

Match 12

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Beximco Dhaka vs Minister Group Rajshahi

Toss : Beximco Dhaka won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Beximco Dhaka : 175/5 in 20 overs (Yasir Ali 67, Akbar 45*, Mushfiqur 37; Mukidul 2/38, Mahedi 1/23, A. Sunny 1/26)

Minister Group Rajshahi : 150/10 in 19.1 overs (Fazle 58, Rony 40, Farhad Reza 14; Muktar 4/37, Shafiqul 3/31, Rubel 2/15)

Result : Beximco Dhaka won by 25 runs.

Player of the Match : Yasir Ali.

Beximco Dhaka kept their hope for the playoffs of Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020 by beating Minister Group Rajshahi by 25 runs thanks to Yasir Ali’s match-winning fifty. It was Dhaka’s 2nd win in the competition in 5 matches.

Chasing a big target of 176, Rajshahi had a nightmare start as they lost 3 wickets for 15. Rony Talukdar and Fazle Mahmud added 67 runs in the 4th wicket to put some fightback. But after their departure on 40 and 57 respectively, Dhaka won the match with ease. At the end Rajshahi were all out for 150 and suffered their 3rd defeat in 5 matches. Muktar was star of the show for Dhaka with the ball claiming 4 wickets for 37.

Batting first, Dhaka were in big trouble after losing 4 wickets for 64 including captain Mushfiqur Rahim. Then Yasir Ali took the charge on the Rajshahi bowlers with a entertaining 67 runs knock from 39 balls. He got the perfect support from Akbar Ali who gave Dhaka the much needed finishing touch. Dhaka ended up posting 175 for 5. Akbar remained unbeaten on 45. Mukidul Islam claimed 2 wickets for 38.