Dynamites reach second successive final

Qualifier 2, Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 2019

Dhaka Dynamites vs Rangpur Riders

Rangpur Riders : 142/10 in 19.4 overs (Bopara 49, Mithun 38, Nadif 27; Rubel 4/23, Russell 2/31, Onik 2/21)

Dhaka Dynamites : 147/5 in 16.4 overs (Russell 40*, Rony 35, Narine 14; Mashrafe 2/32, Howell 1/17, Nazmul 1/47)

Result : Dhaka Dynamites won 5 wickets.

Player of the Match : Rubel Hossain (Dhaka Dynamites).

Dhaka Dynamites reach to the final of BPL 2019 with a thumping 5-wicket victory against defending champion Rangpur Riders in Qualifier 2. Dhaka Dynamites will face Comilla Victorians in the final on February 8 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Shakib Al Hasan put Rangpur Riders to bat first after winning the toss. Nadif Chowdhruy gave the Riders a flying start with a 12-ball 27-run knock including three sixes against Nahidul Islam’s over. But Dynamites then bounced back in the contest by picking up three quick wickets of Nadif, Galyle and tournament’s highest run-scorer Rilee Rossouw.

Then Ravi Bopara’s 49 and Mohammad Mithin’s 38 helped the Riders posing 142 before bowled out in 19.4 overs as no other batsmen stood up. Player of the match, Rubel Hossain scalped 4 wickets for 23.

In response, Dynamites lost Upul Tharanga early on 4. But Rony Talukdar and Shakib Al Hasan both looked good in the third wicket before Rony was run out on 35. Riders caused further trouble to the Dynamites by picking up Shakib and Kieron Pollard in quick-succession as they reduced to 97 for 5.

But blistering all-rounder Andre Russell had other idea as he went onto score unbeaten 40 runs in just 19 balls including 5 sixes to power his side a comfortable win with 5 wickets and 20 balls remaining. Nurul Hasan was not out on 9. Mashrafe Bin Mortaza grabbed 2 wickets for 32.