Imrul-Soumya stars as Tigers complete clean sweep

Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe, Third ODI, ZACS, Chattogram.

Zimbabwe : 286/5 in 50 overs (Willaims 129*, Taylor 75, Sikandar 40; Nazmul 2/58, Abu Hider 1/39, Saifuddin 1/51, Saifuddin 3/45)

Bangladesh : 288/3 in 42.1 overs (Soumya 117, Imrul 115, Mushfiqur 28*; Masakadza 1/3)

Result : Bangladesh won 7 wickets.

Player of the Match : Soumya Sarkar.

Player of the Series : Imrul Kayes.

Bangladesh have won the third and final ODI comprehensively over Zimbabwe by 7 wickets at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram. Bangladesh seal the three-match series by 3-0.

Bangladesh made three changes in the squad from the second ODI. Soumya Sarkar, Arifur Haque and Abu Hider came to the playing XI replacing Fazle Rabbi, Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Mustafizur Rahman. Arifur became the 130th player to made debut for Bangladesh in ODIs.

Just like the second match, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza decided the bowl first after winning the toss. Mohammad Sifuddin and Abu Hider struck from both ends as Zimbabwe lost both the opening pair for 6. Then Sean Williams added 132 runs stand with Brendon Taylor. Nazmul broke the partnership by dismissing Taylor on 75. But Williams remained unbeaten on 129 as he power Zimbabwe to a fighting total of 286 for 5 in 50 overs. Nazmul claimed 2 wickets for 58.

Bangladesh had a terrible start as they lost Liton Kumar Das in the very first ball of the innings. Pressure was on for the Tigers but in-form batsman Imrul Kayes and Soumya Sarkar batted through the next 29 overs with complete domination over the touring bowlers.

Soumya was more aggressive as he scored his second ODI century in just 81 balls. Soumya was finally got out on 117 by Masakadza when he was trying to clear the fence. Imrul and Soumya’s 220-run is now the highest 2nd wicket partnership for Bangladesh.

Imrul on the other hand continued his dream run in the series with yet another century and surpass Tamim Iqbal (312 vs Pakistan) record of scoring most runs for Bangladesh in a bilateral 3-match ODI series.

Imrul was dismissed 115 when Tigers needed only 13 more runs to seal the match. Mushfiqur finished the chase with a six and remained not out on 24 to give Bangladesh another comfortable 7-wicket victory with 47 balls in hand.

Soumya Sarkar was named the player of the match for his brilliant knock while Imrul Kayes was named the player of the series.