Khulna blow away Cumilla despite Sabbir heroics

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 37

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Cumilla Warriors vs Khulna Tigers

Khulna Tigers179/2 in 20 overs (Russouw 71*, Miraz 39, Shanto 38; Wiese 1/30, Soumya 1/39)

Cumilla Warriors 145/10 in 18.2 overs (Sabbir 62, Yasir 27, Soumya 22; Frylinck 5/16, Amir 2/18, Shahidul 2/34)

Result : Khulna Tigers won by 34 runs.

Player of the Match : Robbie Frylinck.

All-rounder Robbie Frylinck showed his magic with 5-wicket haul as his side Khulna Tigers defeated Cumilla Warriors to all but confirm their place in the playoffs. After posting 179 for 2, Khulna won the match by 34 runs despite a fighting fifty from Sabbir Rahman.

Chasing 180, Cumilla lost two early wickets for van Zyl and Dawid Malan early. But Sabbir Rahman who promoted to the opening, scored his first fifty in the tournament and kept Cumilla in the game with 39-ball 62-run knock.

But he got little support form his teammates as Soumya Sarkar and Yasir Ali’s two 20’s were not enough to win the match. Cumulla were eventually all out for 145. Frylicnk claimed 5 wickets for 16.

Earlier Khulna got the stage ready for a big total thanks to Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Nazmul Hossain Shanto’s 71-run opening stand. Rillie Russouw and Mushfiqur Rahim then added the finishing touch to help Khulna posting 179 for 20 after 20 overs. Russouw was remained not out on 71 off 36 balls while Mushfiqur was on 24. Daviw Wiese and Soumya shared 1 wicket each.