Mahmudullah, bowlers power Bangladesh to clinch the series

New Zealand Tour of Bangladesh 2021

Fourth T20I

Venue : Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Toss : New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat first.

New Zealand : 93/10 in 19.3 overs (Young 46, Latham 21, Allen 12; Nasum 4/10, Mustafizur 4/12, Saifuddin 1/16)

Bangladesh : 96/4 in 19.1 overs (Mahmudullah 43*, Naim Sheikh 29, Liton 6; Ajaz 2/9, Cole 1/34)

Result : Bangladesh won by 6 wickets.

Player of the Match : Nasum Ahmed.

An spirited Bangladesh side fightback in the fourth T20I against New Zealand to seal the series in a low scoring encounter at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. Bangladesh lead the series 3-1. Fifth and final match of the series will be held on September 10.

Winning the toss, the visiting side opted to bat first. Again Bangladesh played with the same playing eleven from the first three matches.

Nasum Ahmed troubled the New Zealand openers and removed them for 16 in the powerplay. Then Latham and Young made 35 runs stand before Mahedi Hasan got rid of New Zealand captain for 21. From there, bowlers ran through the blackcaps middle order and kept taking reguler wickets. Young scored the highest knock of 46 but it was in vain as his side were all out for 93. Nasum and Mustafiur shared 4 wickets each.

In response, Bangladesh lost the wicket of Liton Kumar Das early on 6. Shakib Al Hasan too then dismissed cheaply for 32. Tigers were in big trouble when next batsman Mushfiqur Rahim bowled out by Ajaz in the next delivery.

But skipper Naim Sheikh and Mahmudullah ease the situation with some sensible batting before Naim gone for 29. Mahmudullah then finished the match with the support of Afif Hossain with a unbeaten 29 runs partnership. Mahmudullah was on 43 and Afif was on 6. Ajaz bagged 2 wickets for 9 for New Zealand.