Malik, Afif guide Rangpur continue winning ride

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 23

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Rajshahi Royals vs Cumilla Warriors 

Rajshahi Royals 190/4 in 20 overs (Malik 61, Afif 43, Russell 37*; Soumya 1/18, Sunzamul 1/20, Mujeeb 1/25)

Cumilla Warriors : 175/4 in 20 overs (Soumya 88*, Sabbir 25, van Zyl 21; Malik 1/19, Irfan 1/24, Russell 1/44)

Result : Rajshahi Royals won by 15 runs.

Player of the Match : Shoaib Malik.

Red hot Rajshahi Royals just can’t stop winning matches in Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019. They defeated a spirited Cumilla Warriors side by 15 runs in a high-scoring encounter despite Soumya Sarkar’s late charge. With the win, the Royals moved up to the second spot on the points table of Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019 with 10 points in 6 matches.

New Warriors skipper Dawid Malan put the Royals into bat first after winning the toss. In-from opening pair Liton Kumar Das and Afif Hossain gave another fifty plus partnership before Liton got out on 24. Afif then missed out on his fifty as Soumya bowled him out on 43. Next batsmen Ravi Bopara too then gone early.

Then it was two experienced campaigner Shoaib Malik and Andre Russell who smashed the Cumilla bowlers to make 84 runs in the 4th wicket in a hurry. Malik was dismissed after scoring 61 off 38 balls but Russell was remained unbeaten on 37 to power his side posting a strong total of 190 for 4. Soumya, Sunzamul and Mujeeb shared one wicket each.

Cumilla started slowly as they lost both openers in the powerplay. But it was Soumya who played an counter attacking knock to hold the innings for the big chase. Soumya’s unbeaten 48-ball 88-run knock gone in vain as his side fell short of 15 runs thanks so some discipline bolwing by the Royals bowlers in the death overs. Malik, Irfan, Russell and Farhad Reza picked up one wicket each.