Match Report: Bulls rampage over the Vikings

A well composed Nafees-Malan pair guided the Barisal Bulls to their consecutive third win in the AKS BPL T20 2016 as they defeat the Chittagong Vikings by 7 wickets. Being set a target of 164, they knocked off the runs from the final over.

The Bulls’ chase stumbled at the beginning as Joshua Cobb was bowled out by Shuvashish Roy for 6. However, a stroke filled fluent partnership of whopping 150 runs between Shahriar Nafees and David Malan saw BB on the verge of another comprehensive win. Nafees made 65 off 59 balls smashing 7 fours and 1 six before Imran Khan got him bowled with a short delivery outside the off stump. Imran then caught and bowled Thisara Perera for a duck from his following delivery with a slower outside off stump. The equation then came down to 7 runs from 6 balls, an intimidating one for the chasing sides in this tournament for sure! Nevertheless, skipper Mushfiqur Rahim joined Dawid Malan for the rest and sailed the ship home safely. Malan was unbeaten on 78 off 48 balls hitting 3 fours and 7 sixes.

Earlier in the evening, Tamim and Jahurul set the platform for a decent total as the Vikings opening pair made merry in the middle. They stitched a 116 runs partnership together courtesy Tamim Iqbal’s 75 off 51 balls with 10 fours and 2 sixes. Tamim’s cruising mode, though, called an end to his tornado as he had been trying to bash every single bowl and misjudged a fuller from Kamrul Islam Rabbi and got his stumps struck. His partner Jahurul also left the crease for 36  from the following over who mistimed a slog off Abu Haider Rony to heave it down Thisara Perera’s throat at long-on.

After the two quick losses, the Vikings score grew sluggishly to end up on 163.

Brief Scores:

Chittagong Vikings 163/3, 20 overs (Tamim 75, Jahurul 36; Kamrul 1/21); Barisal Bulls 167/3, 19.4 overs (Dawid Malan 78*, Nafees 65; Imran Khan 2/30)

Result: Barisal Bulls won by 7 wickets

Man of the match: Dawid Malan (Barisal Bulls)