Match Report: Dhaka Dynamites crowned BPL 2016 champions

A well dominating Dhaka Dynamites side have won the AKS BPL T20 2016 defeating the Rajshahi Kings in the final by 56 runs. After posting a total of 159/9, DD defended it successfully as they wrapped up the Kings for 103.

In pursuit of the target, Nurul falling early, Mominul and Sabbir attempted to build up a partnership making 47 runs together, albeit slowly which eventually increased the asking run rate out of their grasp. Sabbir was caught short of his ground by a direct hit from Mehedi Maruf for 26 and off the immediate over, Mominul followed him for 27. Franklin, Patel and Sammy were dismissed at regular intervals reducing RK to 87/5. The demolition was a matter of time and rest of the Kings barely managed a three digit total. For DD, Rahi, Sanzamul and Shakib claimed 2 wickets each.

Dhaka Dynamites, after put into bat first, rode on the blitz of Evin Lewis and Kumar Sangakkara who, despite the fall of wickets at regular intervals, guided their team to post second highest total in a BPL final. Lewis scored 45 off 31 with 8 fours before skying an yorker outside leg stump from Farhad Reza to Kesrick Williams at short fine leg. After a cautious start from the DD openers, Miraz drew the first blood for the Kings getting Mehedi Maruf caught by Williams at cover for 8. In the following over, Afif deceived Nasir with back of a length delivery which allowed the wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan with enough time to disturb Nasir’s stumps. RK skipper Sammy reduced the Dynamites to 42/3 trapping Mosaddek in front before Lewis going on a roll to smash Sammy and Afif for 5 fours off their immediate overs. However Miraz, Patel and Farhad claimed Bravo, Russell and Shakib for 33 runs in total successfully keeping the run rate within their grasp. Nevertheless 29 runs from the final 2 overs helped DD set a target of 160 courtesy Sangakkara (36 off 33) and Sanzamul (12 off 5). For the Kings, Farhad Reza claimed 3 for 28.  

Brief Scores:

Dhaka Dynamites 159/9, 20 overs (Lewis 45, Sangakkara 36; Farhad 3/28); Rajshahi Kings 103, 17.3 overs (Mominul 27, Sabbir 26; Rahi 2/12, Sunzamul 2/17, Shakib 2/30)

Result: Dhaka Dynamites won by 56 runs

Player of the Match: Kumar Sangakkara (Dhaka Dynamites)