Match Report: Victorians’ win help Kings seal Playoff berth

The Comilla Victorians have ended their season with a consolation win as they beat the Rangpur Riders by 8 runs. Posting a total of 170 batting first, the Victorians restricted the Riders to 162. With this win, Team Mashrafe had nothing to achieve, albeit they have sent Rajshahi kings through to the playoffs as per run rate calculation. Rangpur now have to wait till the day’s next match in which Khulna Titans will face Dhaka Dynamites. If Khulna win, they will qualify for the next round. Otherwise, Rangpur will go through. 

Put in to bat first, Comilla got a flying start courtesy Imrul Kayes and Khalid Latif who stitched a 88-run opening partnership before Kayes holed out an attempted sweep toward backward square leg boundary to Lia m Dawson off a length delivery from Arafat Sunny. Imrul’s first fifty (52) in this edition of BPL came off 35 balls with 7 fours and 2 sixes. Latif followed him one over later for 43, caught by Afridi and bowled by Sunny. His 36-ball innings included 3 fours and 2 sixes. Samuels capitalized on their effort with his 24-ball 30 before throwing away his wicket for a run-out. Contributions from Zaidi (17) and Rashid (11) finally raised the score to 170. For the Victorians, Sunny and Rubel claimed 2 wickets each.

Chasing the total, Shahzad and Afridi kept Riders on course with 31-ball 45 and 19-ball 38 despite fall of wickets at regular intervals. Skipper Naeem Islam chipped in with 14 and later, Ziaur Rahman attempted a late lift with his unbeaten 38 runs cameo off 22 balls, hitting 1 four and 3 sixes, albeit ended on 8 runs short.

Brief Scores:

Comilla Victorians 170/6, 20 overs (Imrul 52, Latif 43, Samuels 30; Sunny 2/29, Rubel 2/30); Rangpur Riders 154/5, 20 overs (Shahzad 45, Afridi 38; Perera 2/26, Rabbi 2/11)

Result: Comilla Victorians won by 8 runs

Player of the Match: Rashid Khan (Comilla Victorians)