Match Reports: Gayle-Tamim fireworks help Vikings vanquish Riders

The Chittagong Vikings have firmed their playoff prospect as they claim consecutive 4th win in the AKS BPL T20 2016 defeating the Rangpur Riders comprehensively by 9 wickets. Restricting RR to 124, the Vikings gunned down the runs in just 16 overs.

In pursuit of the total, Tamim and Gayle put an opening partnership of 70 runs from 54 balls. Both of them took time before starting the storm as they scored 10 runs from first 20 balls. In next 34 balls, they stitched 60 runs together making enough boundaries and over boundaries. Gayle was then caught by Anwar Ali off Afridi’s delivery for 40 from 28 balls with 2 fours and 4 sixes. Tamim , accompanied by Anamul, steered the Vikings past the finish line with 4 overs remaining. Tamim was not out on 62 from 48 hitting 9 fours and 1 six. Anamul was unbeaten on run-a-ball 22.

Earlier in the evening, In a wicket not much favorable for batting, Rangpur started it cautiously scoring 19 runs from the first 4 overs. Soumya then charged Shuvashish and Nabi for couple of boundaries and one over boundary to put 26 off 19 balls before falling prey to them, caught by Nabi and bowled by Shuvashish. Taskin bowled Mithun (12) and Shahzad (21) within 3 balls to reduce them to 62 for 3. Later, Dawson (14), Afridi (13) and finally Anwar Ali raised the scores to 124/6 with his unbeaten 20 from 13 balls. For the Vikings, Taskin and nabi claimed 2 wickets each.

Brief Scores:

Rangpur Riders 124/6, 20 overs (Soumya 26, Anwar 20*; Taskin 2/25); Chittagong Vikings 185/5, 20 overs (Tamim 62*, Gayle 40*; Afridi 1/25)

Result: Chittagong Vikings won by 9 wickets

Player of the Match: Tamim Iqbal (Chittagong Vikings)