Media Release : Shakib Al Hasan named Bangladesh Test Captain

Major outcomes of the 2nd Meeting of the BCB Board of Directors held today (Sunday, 10 December):

·       The Board has decided to appoint Shakib Al Hasan as Captain of the Bangladesh Test team. The 30-year-old, who replaces Mushfiqur Rahim, will begin his second stint as Test captain with the series against Sri Lanka in January 2018 having earlier led the side from 2009 to 2011. The Board also named Mahmudullah Riyad as Vice-Captain of the Test team.   

  • The BCB Standing Committees formed:




01 Working Committee Enayet Hussain Siraj
02 Cricket Operations Committee Md Akram Khan Khaled Mahmud Sujan
03 Finance Committee Afzal-Ur-Rahman Sinha Muhammed Ismail Haider Mallick
04 Disciplinary Committee A J M Nasir Uddin Sk Sohel
05 Game Development Committee Khaled Mahmud Sujan Md Akram Khan
06 High Performance Committee


Naimur Rahman Durjoy Khaled Mahmud Sujan
07 Tournament Committee Gazi Golam Murtaza Md Saiful Alam Swapon Chowdhury
08 Security Committee


Manzur Kader


Shafiul Alam Chowdhury Nadel
09 Ground Committee Mahbubul Anam Gazi Golam Murtaza
10 Facilities Management  Committee


Lokman Hossain Bhuiyan Tanjil Chowdhury
11 Age-Group Tournament Committee Tanjil Chowdhury Kazi Inam Ahmed
12 Umpires Committee


Md Saiful Alam Swapon Chowdhury Lokman Hossain Bhuiyan
13 CCDM Kazi Inam Ahmed
14 Medical Committee Syed Asfaqul Islam (Titu) Alamgir Khan
15 Tender and Purchase Committee


Advocate Anwarul Islam Md. Saiful Alam Swapon Chowdhury
16 Media and Communication Committee Md Jalal Yunus Sk. Sohel
17 Audit Committee Showkat Aziz Russell Kazi Inam Ahmed
18 Women’s Wing


Shafiul Alam Chowdhury Nadel Nazib Ahmed


19 Logistics and Protocol Committee Muhammed Ismail Haider Mallick Advocate Anwarul Islam
20 Marketing and Commercial Committee Sk. Sohel Muhammed Ismail Haider Mallick
21 Committee for Physically Challenged Cricket Yet to be named Yet to be named
1 BPL Governing Council Afzal-Ur-Rahman Sinha Muhammed Ismail Haider Mallick