Mushfiqur guides Khulna in successful run-chase

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 9

Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium

Rajshahi Royals vs Khulna Tigers

Rajshahi Royals : 189/4 in 20 overs (Malik 87, Bopara 40, Liton 19; Amir 2/36, Frylinck 1/29, Shahidul 1/35)

Khulna Tigers : 192/5 in 19.4 overs (Mushfiqur 96, Russouw 42, Shamsur 29; Russell 2/41, Rabbi 1/18, Afif 1/24)

Result : Khulna Tigers won by 5 wickets.

Player of the Match : Mushfiqur Rahim.

The Chattogram phase of Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019 are off to a flyer as the first match of the city witnessed a high-scoring chase at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium. Khulna Tigers picked up their second win in second match after successfully chase down Rajshahi Royal’s target of 190.

Royal’s innings was boosted by two veteran all-rounder Shoaib Malik and Ravi Bopara’s stroke-full knocks. Malik was bowled by Mohammad Amir before scored 87 off 50 balls while Bopara was remained unbeaten on 40 off 26 balls. Skipper Andre Russell batted for the first time in the tournament and his unbeaten 6-ball 13 runs helped his side posting 189 for 4 in 20 overs. Amir grabbed 2 wickets for 36.

Chasing 190, Khulna did not have the ideal start as they lost both opener for 25 runs. Then skipper Mushfiqur Rahim joined with Riliee Russsouw and added pace to the chase by scoring runs at a quick rate. Following the dismissal of Russouw on 45, Mushfiqur then made an 61-run 4th wicket stand with Shamsur Rahman.

Mushfiqur almost ensured his side’s victory and his maiden T20 hundred with a attempt to clear the boundary in the last over but got out by Bopara on 96. Then Robbie Frylinck hit the boundary and sealed the match with 5 wickets and 2 balls remaining.