Mushfiqur heroics could not prove enough for Bangladesh


India : 176/3 in 20 overs (Rohit 89, Raina 45, Dhawan 35; Rubel 2/27)

Bangladesh : 159/6 in 20 overs (Mushfiqur 72*, Sabbir 27, Tamim 27; Sundar 3/22)

Result : India won by 17 runs

Bangladesh made it tough for them to play in the final after losing to India by 17 runs in the 5th match of Nidahas Trophy 2018. Now the match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka on March 16 will decide the finalist to face India.

Mahmudullah decided to bowl first after winning the toss at R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium. Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan gave India a solid start with a opening partnership of 70. Rubel Hossain finally broke the partnership and got rid of Dhawan on 35. Rubel then also grabbed the wicket of Suresh Raina on 47. Rohit played throughout the innings and powered India to post 176 for 3 in 20 overs. He was dismissed run out in the last ball of 20th over. Rubel took 2 wickets for 27.

Chasing 177, Bangladesh lost Liton Kumar Das early on 12 in the second over. Washington Sundar then also dismissed Soumya Sarkar on 1. After losing 4 wickets for 61, Mushfiqur Rahim and Sabbir Rahman added 65 runs in the 5th wicket stand and gave Bangladesh some hope. Mushfiqur played another fine knock but it was not enough as the Tigers managed to post 159 for 6 in 20 overs. Mushfiqur was remained not out on 72 off 55. Sundar bagged 3 wickets for 22.