Rajshahi secure second win in a row

Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020

Match 3

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Minister Group Rajshahi vs Gemcon Khulna

Toss : Gemcon Khulna won the toss and opted to bat first.

Gemcon Khulna : 146/6 in 20 overs (Ariful 41*, Shamim 35, Anamul 26; Mukidul 2/44, A. Sunny 1/17, Mahedi 1/23)

Minister Group Rajshahi : 147/4 in 17.2 overs (Shanto 55, Rony Talukdar 26, Ashraful 25*; Rishad 2/34, Al-Amin 1/13, Shahidul 1/27)

Result : Minister Group Rajshahi won by 6 wickets.

Player of the Match : Najmul Hossain Shanto.

Minister Group Rajshahi registered their second straight victory in the competition with a comprehensive 6-wicket win over Gemcon Khulna. Rajshahi are now top of the points table with 4 points from 2 matches.

Chasing 147, Rajshahi were off to a flying start thanks to skipper Najmul Hossain Shanto’s 34-ball 55 runs knock. Khulna picked up couple of wickets but Rajshahi never looked uncomfortable in the chase. Mohammad Ashraful was not out on 25 and Nurul Hasan was on 11 as they won the match in 17.2 overs with 6 wickets in hand. Rishad Ahmed bagged 2 wickets for 34.

Earlier Khulna managed to post 146 for 6 after opting to bat first. Khulna were all sorts of trouble after losing 5 wickets for 51. Then first match hero Ariful Haque and Shamim Hossain came to the rescue by scoring unbeaten 41 and 35 respectively. Shahidul Islam chipped in with 17 at the end to help Khulna posting a fighting total. Mukidul Islam picked up 2 wickets for 44 for Rajshahi.

Rajshahi will take on Fortune Barishal in their next match on November 28.