Rangers stand tall to down Thunder in style

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 32

Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet

Sylhet Thunder vs Rangpur Rangers

Rangpur Rangers : 199/5 in 20 overs (Watson 68, Naim Sheikh 42, Delport 25; Ebadat 2/30, Monir 1/25, Rutheford 1/28)

Sylhet Thunder : 161/10 in 19.1 overs (Rutherford 60, Mithun 30, Fletcher 19; Mustafizur 2/18, Gregory 2/27, Taskin 2/39)

Result : Rangpur Rangers won by 38 runs.

Player of the Match : Shane Watson.

Rangpur Rangers skipper Shane Watson finally showcased his batting charisma in Bangbandhu BPL T20 2019 which inspired his side to their 4th win in the campaign. Rangers won the match by 38 runs after setting a target of 200 for the hosts Sylhet Thunder.

Batting first Rangers started off with a 77-run opening stand between Naim Sheikh and Watson. Monir Hossain broke the partnership when Naim was looking for a big but ended up dismissed after scoring 41. His partner Watson picked up his first ever BPL fifty with a blistering 36-ball 68-run knock which set the platform for a big total on the board.

Mohammad Nabi and Fazle Rabbi chipped in with two little cameos of 23 and 16 respectively and powered the Rangers to post 199 for 4. Ebadat Hossain claimed 2 wickets for 30.

For the Thunder, it was only Shaneford Rutherford who fought alone till the end with his 60 runs knock. No other batsman stood out with big score as Thunder were bowled out for 161 in 19.1 overs. Mustafizur, Gregory and Taskin shared 2 wickets each.