Sabbir-Malan guide Cumilla in successful run-chase

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 11

Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium

Cumilla Warriors vs Rangpur Rangers

Rangpur Rangers : 181/8 in 20 overs (Shahzad 61, Nabi 26, Abell 25; Mujeeb 2/25, Soumya 1/16, Sunzamul 1/38)

Cumilla Warriors : 182/4 in 19.4 overs (Sabbir 49, Malan 42*, Soumya 41; Abell 1/21, Nabi 1/25, Mikidul 1/26)

Result : Cumilla Warriors won by 6 wickets.

Player of the Match : David Malan.

Cumilla Warriors got back to the winning ways with a 6-wicket victory in a high-scoring match against Rangpur Rangers and sealed their second win of the tournament. Chasing 182, Cumilla reached the target with 6 wickets and 2 balls remaining.

Rangers were off to a flyer thanks to Mohammad Shahzad’s quickfire knock of 61 off just 27 balls. Then it was the three 20’s from Tom Abell, Mohammad Nabi Lewis Gregory which powered to post a total of 181 for 8 in after 20 overs. Mujeeb Ur Rahman bagged 2 wickets for 25.

Two opener Soumya Sarkar and Bhanuka Rajapaksa set the Warriors innings on fire from the start as they added 61 runs in the powerplay before Rajapaksa waa dismissed on 32 by Nabi. Soumya then got out on 41. Sabbir Rahman and player of the match David Malan then played two match-winning knocks to ensure their side’s victory.

Sabbir was dismissed on 49 but Malan was remained not out on 42 off 24 balls when the Warriors chased down the target in 19.4 overs. Nabi, Abell, Mukidul Islam and Mustafzur Rahman shared one wicket each for the Rangers.