Shanaka-Bowlers power Cumilla to a flying start in BBPL 2019

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 2

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Cumilla Warriors vs Rangpur Rangers

Cumilla Warrios : 173/7 in 20 overs (Shanaka 75*, Soumya 26, Malan 25; Gregory 2/25, Sanjit 2/26, Mustafizur 2/37)

Rangpur Rangers : 68/10 in 14 overs (Naim 17, Shahzad 13, Nabi 11; Al-Amin 3/14, Sunzamul 2/4, Soumya 2/12)

Result : Cumilla Warrios won by 105 runs.

Player of the Match : Dasun Shanaka.

A clinical display from the batsmen and bowlers helped Cumilla Wariors to start their campaign on a high as they sealed a record 105-run victory against Rangpur Rangers in the second match of Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019.

Cumilla started their innings slowly as Soumya Sarkar and David Malan both got the start in the top-order but failed to score big. It was till the last 3 overs where the Warriors plugged-in some power hitting thanks to skipper Dasun Shanaka who scored an unbeaten 75 off just 31 balls including 3 fours and 9 sixes. His knock helped Cumilla to post a total of 173 for 7. George Gregory, Sanjit Saha and Mustafizur Rahman shared two wickets each.

Rangpur had a poor start in the chase as they lost 4 wickets in the powerplay. Cumilla bowlers kept taking wickets in regular intervals as they bowl out the Rangers for just 68 in 14 overs and suffered 105 runs defeat which is now the second biggest defeat in BPL history.