Soumya, Malan star as clinical Warriors smash the Thunder

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 35

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Cumilla Warriors vs Sylhet Thunder

Sylhet Thunder 141/5 in 20 overs (Abdul Majid 45, Charles 26, J. Mendis 25; Al-Amin 2/30, Wiese 2/31, Mujeeb 1/23)

Cumilla Warriors 142/5 in 19.1 overs (Malan 58, Soumya 53*, Wiese 13; Nayeem 3/21, Ebadat 1/26)

Result : Cumilla Warriors won by 5 wickets.

Player of the Match : Dawid Malan.

Cumilla Warriors keep their playoff dream alive with another victory against Sylhet Thunder. Sylhet ended their disappointing campaign in low wihh one more defeat as managed to win just 2 matches out of 12. Cumilla on the other end moved up to the fifth spot on the points table with 10 points from 10 matches.

Batting first, Thunder posted a total of 141 for 5 thanks to highest scorer Abdul Majid’s 45. Johnson Charles and Jeevan Mendis chipped in with 26 and 25 respectively. Al-Amin Hossain and David Wiese grabbed two wickets each.

Warriors started their innings slowly and lost 3 wickets for 32 runs in 7.5 overs. At thatpoint Thunder were sniffing a consolation victory but Dawid Malan and Soumya Sarkar roke their heart with a 72-run stand which all but won the match for the Warriors.

Malan was dismissed after scoring 58 but Soumya remained at the crease till the end and hit the winning boundary scoring unbeaten on 53 to win the match with 5 balls and 5 wickets remaining. Nayeem Hasan scalped 3 wickets for 21 for the Thunder.