Spirited Dhaka Platoon bog Rajshahi Royals down

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 26

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Dhaka Platoon vs Rajshahi Royals 

Dhaka Platoon : 174/5 in 20 overs (Tamim 68*, Asif Ali 55*, Mahedi 21; Farhad Reza 2/44, Bopara 1/17, Russell 1/34)

Rajshahi Royals : 100/10 in 16.4 overs (Afif 31, Nahidul 14, Liton 10; Wahab 5/8, Shadab 1/9, Reece 1/11)

Result : Dhaka Platoon won by 74 runs.

Player of the Match : Wahab Riaz.

A clinical Dhaka Platoon side in all three departments have registered their fifth win in the Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019. Posting a colossal total of 174, the Platoon bowlers specially Wahab Riaz strangled the Rajshahi Royals top order upfront and eventually got them all out for 100.

Winning the toss, Andre Russell opted to bowl first. Dhaka had a slow start as they 2 wickets in the powerplay scoring 35 runs. Mahedi Hasan played a little cameo knock of 21 off 11 balls before dismissed by Ravi Bopara. Tamim hold the other end and picked up his fifty to guide the Dhaka innings for a big total.

Tamim got the perfect company at the end with Asif Ali in the 6th wicket at the later scored and unbeaten 28-ball 55-run in a quick time. Tamim and Asif’s unbeaten 90-run stand powered them posting 174 for 5 in 20 overs. Farhad Reza picked up 2 wickets in expense of 44 runs.

Rajshahi were off to a flying start thanks to Afif Hossain’s 31 off 23-ball knock. Just when things were looking tough for Dhaka, Wahab Riaz came to their rescue and changed the match equation with a wicket-maiden over including three wickets of Liton Kumar, Alok Kapali and Shoaib Malik. Rajshai never recovered form that damage and kept losing wickets in regular intervals.

Other bowlers also joined the party as they bowl the the Royals all out for 100 runs and won the match by 74 runs. Wahab was the standout bowler for the Platoon who picked up 5 wickets for just 8 runs who then named the player of the match for his match-winning display. It was the second best bowling figure in BPL history.