Sumon stars as Mahmudullah XI clinch BCB President’s Cup Title

BCB President’s Cup


Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Najmul XI vs Mahmudullah XI

Toss : Mahmudullah XI won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Najmul XI : 173/10 in 47.1 overs (Irfaan 75, Shanto 32, Towhid 26; Sumon Khan 5/38, Rubel 2/27, Mahmudullah 1/28)

Mahmudullah XI : 177/3 in 29.4 overs (Liton 68, Imrul 53*, Mahmudullah 23*; Nasum 2/48, Al-Amin 1/40)

Result : Mahmudullah XI won by 7 wickets.

Player of the Match : Sumon Khan

Best Batsman : Irfaan Shukkur

Best Bowler : Sumon Khan

Best Fielder : Nurul Hasan Sohan

Player of the Tournament – Mushfiqur Rahim

Batsman of the Tournament – Irfan Shukkur

Bowler of the Tournament – Rubel Hossain

Fielder of the Tournament – Nurul Hasan Sohan

Comeback player of the Tournament – Taskin Ahmed

Promising player of the Tournament – Rishad Ahmed


President’s Special Award

1. Mohammad Saifuddin

2. Sk Mahadi Hasan

3. Sumon Khan

4. Afif Hossain

5. Towhid Hridoy

Mahmudullah XI have sealed the title of BCB President’s Cup after defeating Najmul XI comprehensively by 7 wickets in the final at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. Mahmudullah XI chased down the target of 174 thanks to fifties from Liton Das and Imrul Kayes following the 5-wicket haul of pacer Sumon Khan.

After winning the toss, Mahmudullah XI opted to bowl first and their bowlers proved the decision right from the beginning. Sumon and Rubel Hossain was all over the Najmul XI top order as they were reduced to 64 for 5 at one stage. From there it was Irfaan Shukkur who carried the innings till the end and made 75 off 77 balls. No other batsmen stood out as Najmul XI were all out for 173 in 48th over. Sumon stole the show with 5 wickets for just 38.

Mahmudullah XI were off to a good start thanks to Liton Das’s 68 runs knock. After his departure, skipper Mahmudulllah joined with Imrul Kayes and they made unbeaten 48-run partnership to help their side winning the match inside 30 overs. Imrul remained not out on 53 while Mahmudullah was on 23. Nasum took 2 wickets for 48 for Najmul XI.