Sylhet set to host inaugural Test

The first Test between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe will mark a history in Bangladesh cricket as Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet will host its inaugural Test from November 3 to November 7.

Sylhet will become the eighth Test venue in Bangladesh. So far Sylhet has staged seven international matches. Six of them were during the 2014 World T20 and one in earlier of this year between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

Apart from regular domestic matches, some of the opening matches of BPL T20 2017 were also held at this venue.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced the 15-man squad for the 2-match Test series. Mahmudullah will lead the side in place of regular captain Shakib Al Hasan who is sidelined due to hand injury. Mohammad Mithun, Khaled Ahmed, Nazmul Islam and Ariful Haque called up for the first time in Test squad.

Bangladesh Squad : Mahmudullah (Captain), Imrul Kayes, Litton Kumer Das, Mominul Haque, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Md Mithun, Khaled Ahmed, Nazmul Islam Apu.

Match will start from 9:30 am (Local time).