Tigers kick off ODI series with victory

Sri Lanka Tour of Bangladesh 2021

First ODI

Venue : Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Toss : Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat first.

Bangladesh : 257/6 in 50 overs (Mushfiqur 84, Mahmudullah 54, Tamim 52; Dhananjaya 3/45, Chameera 1/39, Sandakan 1/55)

Sri Lanka : 224/10 in 48.1 overs (Hasaranga 74, K. Perera 30, K. Mendis 24; Miraz 4/30, Mustafizur 3/34, Saifuddin 2/49)

Result : Bangladesh won by 33 runs.

Player of the Match : Mushfiqur Rahim.

Tigers added more points to their tally on the Super League with a comprehensive 33 runs victory over Sri Lanka in the first ODI. Bangladesh lead the series 1-0. Second match of the series will be held on May 25 at the same venue.

Chasing 258, Sri Lanka were struggling from the start as they kept losing wickets in regular intervals. Mehidy Hasan Miraz was all over the visitor’s batting line up and reduced them for 102 for 6 on the 28th over. Just when Tigers were looking for a easy win, Hasaranga showed fightback with a counter-attacking knock of 74.

Finally it was Saifuddin who removed both Hasaranga and Udana after the pair added 62 runs in the 8th wicket. Sri Lanka were all out for 224. Miraz was the standout bowler for Bangladesh with 4 wickets for 30.

Earlier, Tamim Iqbal opted to bat first after winning the toss. Bangladesh did not have the ideal start as Liton Kumar Das dismissed early without scoring. Shakib returned to the side in this series after a break and came to the crease at number 3. His innings were cut short by Gunathilaka on 15. Tamim looked solid on the other end but gone after scoring 52.

Bangladesh were in trouble as Dhananjaya trapped Mohammad Mithun lbw for a duck reduced the Tigers to 99 for 4. From there two experienced campaigner Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah rescued with a vital 109-run partnership. Mushfiqur Rahim was on his way to pick up 8th career century before he got out for 84 attempting a reverse sweep. Mahmudullah was the next batsman to be dismissed on 54.

Then it was Afif Hossain and Mohammad Saifuddin’s unbeaten 27 runs stand helped Bangladesh to post a fighting total of 257 for 6. Afif was remained not out on 27 and Saifuddin was on 13. Dhananjaya picked up 3 wickets for 45.