Vikings sail to their first victory

Chittagong Vikings : 166/4 in 20 overs (Ronchi 78, Misbah 31*, Munaweera 20; Bopara 2/14, T. Perera 1/16, Mashrafe 1/28)

Rangpur Riders : 155/8 in 20 overs (Bopara 38, Shahriar 26, Mithun 21; Taskin 3/31, Reece 2/26, Sanzamul 1/21)

Result : Chittagong Vikings won by 11 runs.

Man of the Match : Taskin Ahmed (Chittagong Vikings)

Chittagong Vikings clinched their first victory in the AKS BPL T20 2017 by beating Rangpur Riders by 11 runs.

Rangpur Riders opted to field first after winning the toss at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet. Luke Ronchi’s quick-fire knock of 78 off 35 balls gave Chittagong Vikings a solid start. But some disciplined bowling from the Riders bowlers in the late overs restricted Vikings to 166 for 4 in 20 overs. Ravi Bopara picked up 2 wickets for 14.

In reply Chittagong Vikings lost their both openers early. After losing their third wicket for 56, Shahriar Nafees and Ravi Bopara’s 49 runs partnership in the 4th wicket gave some hope to the Riders. But after their departure, Riders lost couple of wickets in quick-succession and eventually ended their innings on 155 for 8 in 20 overs. Taskin Ahmed bagged 3 wickets for 31 and was named man of the match.