Walton DPDCL 2017-18 in a nutshell

Abahani Limited have become the champion for the 19th time in the recently concluded Walton Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2017-18. Abahani clinched the title on the final round of Super League by beating Legends of Rupgonj. Here is a brief sum-up of the tournament.

Highest run scorer : Nazmul Hossain Shanto ended the campaign with a century which helped him to finish the league as the highest run scorer. He scored 749 runs from 16 matches with four centuries and two half-centuries. Anamul Haque Bijoy (Abahani Limited : 744 runs), Naeem Islam (Legends of Rupgonj : 720 runs), Fazle Mahmud (Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club : 708 runs) and Mohammad Ashraful (Kalabagan Krira Chakra : 665 runs) are the other top run scorers in the list.

Highest wicket taker : Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza picked up highest 39 wickets in this season. It is now the highest wicket taking record in List A for Bangladesh. He broke the previous record of Abu Hider Rony’s 35 wickets in 2016-17 for Gazi Group Cricketers. During the campaign, Mashrafe twice took 5 wickets including a double hat-trick. Asif Hasan (Legends of Rupgonj :29 wickets), Mohammad Shohid (Legends of Rupgonj : 29 wickets), Farhad Reza (Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club : 29 wickets) and Qazi Onik (Mohammedan Sporting Club : 28 wickets) are the other four top wicket takers.

Abahani Limited posted the highest total of 393 for 4 against Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club. On the same match, Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Anamul Haque Bijoy made the highest partnership of 236 in the opening wicket. Soumya Sarkar played the highest individual knock 154 off 127 for Agrani Bank in the final round of Relegation League.

Yeasin Arafat of Gazi Group Cricketers set the new record of taking highest wickets in an innings in List A for Bangladesh. He took 8 wickets for 40 against Abahani Limited the round phase. Mahidul Islam Ankon’s (Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity) 28 dismissals was the highest among the wicket-keepers. Farhad Hossain of Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club took highest 15 catches.

Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity played in the Super League for the first time this year in their history. Their Indian recruit Ashok Menaria was the the standout performer with the bat and ball. He scored 662 runs from 15 matches and took 11 wickets. Mahidul islam Ankon also contributed well for Khelaghar by scoring 609 runs.