Young Tigers seal ICC U-19 CWC 2020 Title

ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup South Africa 2020


Bangladesh U-19 vs India U-19 

Senwes Park, Potchefstroom

India U-19 : 177/10 in 47.2 overs (Jiswal 88, Verma 38, Jurel 22; Avishek 3/40, Sakib 2/28, Shoriful 1/31)

Bangladesh U-19 : 170/7 in 42.1 overs (Target 170 in 46 overs) (Emon 47, Akbar 43*, Tanzid 17, Rakibul 9*; Bishnoi 4/30, Mishra 2/25, Jaiswal 1/15)

Result : Bangladesh U-19 won by 3 wickets (D/L Method).

Player of the Match : Akbar Ali (Bangladesh U-19)

Bangladesh U-19 have made history by becoming the champion of ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup South Africa 2020 by defeating the defending champion India U-19 in the final at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom. Young Tigers successfully chased down the revised target of 170 with 3 wickets and 29 balls remaining.

Winning the toss, Akbar Ali invited India U-19 to bat first and Avishek Das gave his skipper the perfect start with the wicket of Saxena for 2. Jaiswal and Verma then rebuild the Indian innings with a 94-run stand. Bangladesh were searching for a breakthrough and Tanzim Hasan Sakib provided that with the wicket of Verma on 38. Since then bowlers maintained the pressure on India by picking up regular wickets. Jaiswal on the other end scored 88 which kept his side in the game.

But Bangladesh bowlers fought back after his dismissal as India lost their last 7 wickets for 21 runs to bowl out for 177 runs in 47.2 overs. Avishek was the standout bowler for the Young Tigers who claimed 3 wickets for 40.

In response, Tanzid Hasan and Parvez Hossain Emon gave a solid start in the chase by making a 50 runs opening stand. But a batting collapse suddenly reduced Bangladesh 65 for 4 and Emon was also retired hurt after sustaining a injury. India put more pressure after picking up 2 more wickets as Bangladesh were in all sorts trouble on 102 for 6. Emon then returned to the field and made an vital 41-run partnership with Akbar Ali before bowled out by Jaiswal on 47.

Pressure was building but Akbar Ali remained calm at the one end who got the perfect supporting role from Rakibul Hasan who played an important knock of unbeaten 9 off 25 balls and scored the winning run. Rain stopped the play for some moment and the new target was 170 in 46 overs which Bangladesh gunned down in 42.1 overs. Akbar who later named the player of the match, remained not out on 43 off 77 balls. Bishnoi garbbed 4 wickets for 30 for India.

Photo : ICC